Just because it’s summer doesn’t mean you should stop reading. I certainly don’t. So below I have put together my Summer Reading List & Book Wishlist.

As usual, I got a lot of great ideas looking around in the kids’ department at Quail Ridge Books the other day. Let’s hope I end up with my own copies of some of these – my birthday is coming up, after all! (update: LitKid was lucky enough to get the boldfaced titles for her birthday … she’ll have a lot of reviews to share soon.)

~ LitKid

LitKid also put our annual list of ‘fun things we could do this summer’ on a giant Post-It that’s now hanging in our hallway; be sure to note the last one on that list. (!)
(I was thinking I’d do well if I read 15 or 20 from my kid and grownup ‘to read’ stacks!)
~ AKId@Heart

LitKid’s Summer Reading List … 2012 Edition

  • Septimus Heap Series, Angie Sage
      • Flyte
      • Physik
      • Queste
      • Syren
      • Darke
  • The Popularity Papers, Amy Ignatow
  • Middle School: the Worst Years of My Life, James Patterson
  • School of Fear: Class is Not Dismissed! Gitty Daneshvari
  • The One & Only Ivan, Katherine Applegate
  • The Wednesday Wars, Gary D. Schmidt
  • The Graveyard Book, Neil Gaiman
  • Sent, Margaret Peterson Haddix  (2nd book in the “Missing” Trilogy)
  • The Wimpy Kid Movie Diary, Jeff Kinney
  • The Babysitter’s Club: The Summer Before, Ann M. Martin
  • Dork Diaries Series, Rachel Renee Russell
      • Tales from a NotsoFabulous Life
      • Tales from a NotsoPopular Party Girl
      • Tales from a NotsoTalented Pop Star
      • Tales from a NotsoGraceful Ice Princess
  • The Extroardinary Education of Nicholas Benedict, Trenton Lee Stewart
  • Prairie Evers, Ellen Airgood
  • Close to Famous, Joan Bauer
  • Between Shades of Gray, Ruta Sepetys
  • The Search for WondLa, Tony DiTerlizzi
  • Bigger Than a Bread Box, Laurel Snyder (Read this already, but want a copy of my own cuz it was awesome 🙂 
  • Lemonade Crime, Jacqueline Davies
  • Bliss, Kathryn Littlewood
  • The City of Ember, Jeanne DuPrau
  • Scumble, Ingrid Law
  • From the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler, E. L. Konigsburg

P.S. Happy Summer!!!!

P.P.S. What’s on your Summer Reading List?

